Organization details

Board of County Commissioners

Meets at: Centennial Hall Auditorium

Meets when: Every Tuesday 9:00 AM

The County Commissioners are constitutional officers elected to four-year terms. The Board of County Commissioners (BoCC), an administrative and policy-making body, has only such powers and authority as are granted by the General Assembly of the Colorado State Legislature.
County government is a political subdivision of state government, created to carry out the will of the state. The County is not an independent governmental entity existing by reason of any sovereign authority. As a political subdivision, the county and its board of commissioners possess only such implied powers as are necessary to carry out expressed powers ( Colorado Constitution, Article XIV, Section 6).
Colorado counties with a population of 70,000 or more may have a three or five-member board of commissioners. In 1976 the voters of El Paso County chose to have a board of five commissioners, each elected to represent a district. The districts are equal in population, and the boundaries are established by the board every two years.
The Board of County Commissioners holds public hearings and meetings on a regular basis. All such meetings are subject to state open meeting laws, the Colorado Sunshine Act of 1972, and the Colorado Open Records Act. The Commissioners update their Rules, Procedures and Ethics Standards annually. The Board's regular published hearings are held on Tuesdays and Thursdays (except legal holidays) beginning at 9 a.m. in the Auditorium of Centennial Hall at 200 South Cascade Avenue, Colorado Springs. In July and August a summer schedule is implemented and meetings are held Tuesday's only.

Current members:

First name Last name Function Since
Cami Bremer Chair 01/02/2019 Details
Carrie Geitner Vice Chair 01/12/2021 Details
Longinos Gonzalez Commissioner 01/01/2016 Details
Stan VanderWerf Commissioner 01/01/2016 Details
Holly Williams Commissioner 01/02/2019 Details